Tipster profile image
Head of Content authorBadge
Last Updated:

2 min read

Spanish media claims Osimhen’s goal should’ve been ruled out
google news logo Follow us
Add comment
Napoli's forward leveled the scoring in the 1-1 draw against Barcelona

Last night, Napoli and Barcelona concluded their first encounter in the Champions League Round of 16 with a 1-1 draw at the “Diego Armando Maradona” stadium. Robert Lewandowski opened the scoring for the Catalans after an hour of play, but fifteen minutes before the final whistle, Victor Osimhen leveled the score. He managed to navigate a significant physical clash with Inigo Martinez, who ended up on the ground, allowing Osimhen to score past Barcelona’s goalkeeper, Marc-Andre ter Stegen.

Towards the end of the match, numerous replays of the tussle between the Spanish defender and the Nigerian striker raised questions about whether a foul should have been called in that situation.

This sparked a wave of discontent on social media, particularly among Barcelona fans, who expressed their confusion about why the goal was allowed. The rematch between Barcelona and Napoli is scheduled for March 12 at the “Estadi Olimpic Luis Companys.”